Why Did You and I Come Together?

image image

Going deeper and being honest about connection amazes me every time.

In “Frida Kahlo’s Garden” edited by Adriana Zavala there is a photograph of Frida and Diego Rivera looking at each other with such intensity that it holds you in amazement.

Over the summer I threw away a bundle of letters which catalogued a brief connection with someone, a connection that was at once disarmingly intense yet bounded by past hurt and childhood experiences. For him the reason why we came together was clear right from the start; for me less so, I was not so far along in my healing.  Re-reading these letters felt like reading about someone else. The need to keep them had long passed as I had absorbed the lessons so deeply.

It is rich and illuminating to look at connection from this perspective.

Leave a Reply

