Mother and Child

image
Love in Tindery Cages

“Illness is the night side of life, a more onerous citizenship. Everyone who is born holds dual citizenship, in the kingdom of the well and in the kingdom of the sick.” Susan Sontag

I knew, as a parent, how hard it was to watch my son poorly and in pain when he was young.  As his mum, however, I somehow had the power to ease the pain and comfort him.  I’ve learnt, this week, how hard it is to watch a parent poorly and in pain.  My mum, after a cardiac arrest and multiple infections is still fighting. I so admire her spirit and courage. I so long to take her pain away.

Leave a Reply

